What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Ashtanga vinyasa yoga, or ashtanga yoga, is a system of postures which comes from a tradition spanning thousands of years and which was taught from Krishnamacharya to Pattabhis Jois. This method of yoga is dynamic and has a focus on the synchronisation of breath and movement, vinyasa, through a series of adapted and progressive postures, creating a balance between flexibility and strength. It is within this framework that the body and mind become calm and at peace.

The Mysore System

The most suitable method for learning ashtanga yoga is through the Mysore system. Each student learns and practices in an independent and personalised way, in a room with other students. All levels are in the same class and practice alongside others at their own pace. This method will give you the keys to an autonomous and deep practice.


Vinyasa is a connection of breath and movement, creating the integral distinction of ashtanga yoga. Each movement is linked to an exhalation or inhalation. This movement creates lightness and strength throughout the body, and develops focus and mental balance.

The 8 Limbs of Patanjali

The classic text of ashtanga yoga is the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. The Sanskrit word ashtanga literally translates to “eight limbs”. These eight limbs are a path to self-realisation and can be practiced by anyone.

The eight limbs include:

  • Yama (ethical discipline)
  • Niyama (observation)
  • Asana (posture)
  • Pranyama (breath control)
  • Pratyahara (control of the senses)
  • Dharana (concentration)
  • Dhyana (meditation)
  • Samadhi (Self-realisation)